On Summer, Vacations, and Finally Settling on a Paint Color

I haven’t been writing much this summer because I’ve been out doing things and enjoying the weather and the pool. It’s nice to only be worried about work and the ten million things waiting to be done at the house, instead of those plus the added loads of school four nights a week and homework and reading.

I’ve also been pretty hesitant to write this summer because a lot of what’s been going on away from the keyboard has been… Frustrating. And a bit uncontrollable. I’ll happily gossip about it over wine, but writing it down seems to give a life and more permanence to it than it deserves.

We went on a family vacation to Maine with friends earlier this month. It was amazing. We had a big group – fifteen of us, ages 6 through 79 – and some strong personalities, but through it all, we kept our wits and our humor and had a great time. Highlights of the trip included amazing hikes and fantastic food. On one hike, our friend’s 79 year old father totally made it up a rock face, while I managed to place one foot up and promptly fell back off. Yeah – he kicked my a** – not ashamed to admit it. On another hike, I remembered that I’m actually scared of heights and that a sheer rock face, clinging to a tiny iron bar driven into the granite, is not really a great place for me. I made it up that mountain with a quickness, in part because I couldn’t go back down and because I couldn’t get off that trail fast enough.

I finally picked out a basic color for the house. Mostly our house is beige right now. While that’s fine (I wrinkle my nose just typing those words), we’re not beige people and have been talking about changing it since we first saw the house. I like the idea of a nice soft grey. At first, I thought Revere Pewter – that mainstay of home decorating blogs – would work for us, but it’s too beige. I don’t like the pinkish undertones.

In an attempt to not overwhelm myself, I though about starting with the study and painting it first. Maybe a nice blue… I’ve tried five different shades in the study – thinking it would be perfect for the bright sunny space. They’ve all been wrong – one turned almost fluorescent in the sun. And then finally, I stumbled on the perfect light blue/grey. Benjamin Moore’s Glass Slipper. I bought a little can and painted a square on the wall… And I love it! It’s perfect for the beige cover up project. So, yay! Soon, the study will be painted Glass Slipper. Next project is picking a turquoise for the backs of the bookcases… Eep!

2 thoughts on “On Summer, Vacations, and Finally Settling on a Paint Color

  1. I made it up that mountain with a quickness, in part because I couldn’t go back down and because I couldn’t get off that trail fast enough.

    So . . . how did you get down?

Leave a Reply

